Wyndham Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews

Showing all 159 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bosses
Banquet Captain/ Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 24, 2018
had great boss who taught me how to properly do job and invested time to show me what I needed to advance, was mentoring me until his departure. the executive chef I worked under was a great teacher as well. worked in kitchen first 9mos and then was divided in hours between kitchen and banquets until I was hired as banquet captain
Pros
department director and managers
Cons
pay/employee turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guiar mucho campo asustada pero al final llegaba feliz a mi destino
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 22, 2018
Primer trabajo oficial Q tuve en los EE UU llevando con orgullo mi uniforme primer trabajo que me dan la experiencia de trabajar sin saber hablar ingles trate de hacer el mejor trabajo que pude siendo muda Le agradesco haver tenido una experiencia de trabajo sin saber hablar ingles y deje el trabajo por padeser persecucion
Cons
baños con escritos intimidantes paredes sucias
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily
Guest Service Supervisor/On Site Trainer (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAMay 21, 2018
Days were always different. Answering phone calls, checking in guest, and checking out. never had a set schedule or a set team. always different for each day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big hotel
Front Desk Associate and Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMay 21, 2018
Management could be replaced and hotel could be updated. But overall the pay and benefits are great and the work schedules aren't that bad. Great way to move up in the hospitality business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for someone who is not me
Staff (Current Employee) –  Destin, FLMay 7, 2018
One of the managers was a real pain, but other than that management is excellent and I always felt like they had my comfort in mind. I worked in several different positions most weeks, which was good for getting a lot of experience, but for me personally it was sort of stressful and exhausting, particularly as I was required to spend more and more time in the restaurant as it got busier. And the difference between the off season and the on season is BIG. I didn't really care for getting my schedule late friday night every week, but that's a minor inconvenience. Really, besides that one manager, all my complaints about working here are purely personal priorities.
Pros
(mostly) great management, wonderful coworkers, overall good experience
Cons
Off season is completely dead while the on season is busy to the point of being stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Housekeeping/Laundry (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILMarch 19, 2018
very great company to work for. I enjoyed it.
Quick paced , keep you on your toes environment. Loved helping People and seeing a smile on their face everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Tropical Relaxed & Fun environment
Recreational Pool and Food Attendant (Former Employee) –  Río Grande Municipio, PRFebruary 25, 2018
The role related to guest services in the hotel industry. As a recreational attendants the responsibilities were to assist guests in the recreations areas of hotel. Pool, beach, sports facilities as well important outdoor events. Maintenance of these areas are also the responsibility of a recreational representative. The culture of the role was always fun and enjoyable climate permanently on display.
Pros
guest interactions
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was not happy
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAFebruary 21, 2018
Our checks was short and the manger was very rude. I would not recommend anybody to work there. There service is very poorly no good customer service. The hours where good and the pay most of the time.
Pros
nothing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Houseman/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Newport Harbor, RIFebruary 2, 2018
I was a housemen working for long wharf in cleaning and maintaining the hotel at its best. Making customers as much comfortable as they can possibly get.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back
Laundry Attendant (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAJanuary 14, 2018
typical day at work would be to come in and cant clock in... have to get manager to clock you in.... easy work laundry and houseman... breakfast on some days
Pros
free smoke break
Cons
payment/ hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gained lots of knowledge and became very organized
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 12, 2017
great atmosphere enjoyed going to work. Learned to cleaned meet new people different cultures. Had breakfast and lunch for us. Gave us the tools needed and trained us very well.
Pros
meet people, morning shifts, well groomed people
Cons
Guests can be really nasty sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Waterpark Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMNovember 30, 2017
My typical day at work is helping my manager with opening up the park and daily operating procedures. I've learned a lot about saving a persons life with the skills they taught us. I learned CPR, rescue breathing, AED trained, and first aid. The management at my work place are excellent leaders and helped me a lot to be the best supervisor I can be. The hardest part about my job is not getting enough hours lately. I'm looking for a franchise that could offer me more hours and a faster paced environment. The most enjoyable part of the job is dealing with happy customers and their kids.
Pros
free passes
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worke the 11 to 7 overnight shift so I was alone in the laundry room every night
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAOctober 9, 2017
It was very quit & peaceful because I worked alone but I like being around people working with people but the job itself was ok just folding laundry all night
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 1, 2017
I go in, wash dishes and chay to my friendly co-workers. I have learned how to was dishes. I like the manager. It's a very nice culture. The hardest part is standing up. I love washing dishes.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
I don't know
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micro management that led to bankruptsy
Corporate Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Billerica, MASeptember 26, 2017
lived on property
constantly on call 4 consecutive months
micro managing Director of Sales
loud, shouting manager
stressful
lunch provided at nominal fee
Pros
lunch provided at nominal fee
Cons
few breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work, but poor food and beverage management
Kitchen Supervisor/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VASeptember 13, 2017
liked working here but management was poor. an old hotel that needs a lot of work. good kitchen equipment. average co-workers that doesn't mind lending a helping hand
Pros
free lunch, opportunities in other departments throughout the hotel
Cons
not much help, no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, productive, fun environment
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CASeptember 12, 2017
Working at the wyndham it was fun and also stressful. However, having a manager that always wants to motivate and push their employees to be excellent in customer service
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Holidays off/paid had to be drawn out of a hat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick-paced, friendly environment
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Ormond Beach, FLAugust 24, 2017
Everyone is very friendly.
Serious emphasis on time.
Very picky on how things should be done and how they should look when you leave.
The shift is in the middle of the day making it slightly difficult to arrange a second job.
Pros
Work by yourself
Cons
Middle of the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and Productive workplace
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Buffalo Grove, ILAugust 22, 2017
I was able to grow independently with this company. Having to handle serious situations alone strengthened my skills to handle anything in the workplace. I was able to grow within the company and enjoyed the time and people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 16, 2017
The work environment is defiantly a learn hands on and as you go they was only four days of training and it wasn't on the system at all.
The work conditions were not so great no AC in the whole hotel for almost two years and so many flies !!!!
Pros
Good hours
Cons
the pay for the work you do, managment, work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wyndham Hotels & Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 159 reviews
556
444
328
211
120

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture