Occidental Petroleum Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 338 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Summer intern (Current Employee) –  MuscatOctober 2, 2018
you get to learn so much as an intern and you will be given the tasks of a full time employee so you get the real feel of what it is like to be an engineer in the petroleum industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training and development
Process Instructor (Current Employee) –  OmanAugust 17, 2018
There has been a daily meeting everyday.
Going to training classes for the new trainees to take lectures on the subjects based on time table.
going to field for on job training to the trainees those who have completed class room training.
Executing tasks according to P&ID
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Snr. Document Controller (Former Employee) –  MuscatJune 14, 2018
The company was well organised, good set of people to work with, great Dcc team, and learned a lot about different types of people, with my location been based overseas.
Pros
great location
Cons
7 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast
Quality Specialist (Former Employee) –  OMJanuary 7, 2018
Great Place to work willing to train you
and had many place to work. Got to see the world. Management was great and treated you like you and your family came first
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work with fun & all Sport activity
SR.INSTRUMENT TECHNCIAN (Former Employee) –  MuscatDecember 14, 2017
Oxy is very good company to work ,managements are very friendly & care about Employee, Work place Culture is very friendly & Team work, Also new Things to learn & training system from managements are very good for Employee,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day a new challenge, plenty of entertainment
Fiber Optic Specialist (Current Employee) –  OMANSeptember 3, 2017
Work day is 7 days a week 28 days a month.
60% Field work, 40% office work.
Training nationals is an enjoyable part of the job.
Joining in with their culture and learning their ways.
Pros
Experience working with other cultures
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aggressive planning to meet Production exit rates
Project Controls Lead (Former Employee) –  OmanApril 15, 2017
* One of the largest producer in Oman with a good working culture and thin organization structure. Allowed to work in verticals as long as commitments are met
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team work
Oil production operator (acting lead) (Current Employee) –  MukhaiznaJanuary 5, 2017
The day starts with normal routine permits review and Authorizing along with following with field operators to make sure that the field is running in safe manner. Management are help full in term of assisting, but bad in evaluation. Co-worker are excellent in team work. the hardest part of the job is to manage so many jobs in short period. For example, operators should cover around 180 wells perday.
Pros
Very good place to gain experiance
Cons
Poor Evaluation
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Systematic,Safety & preplanned job Circle
Electrical Senior Commissioning tech (Former Employee) –  Safah, Muscat, OMANSeptember 10, 2016
I learned the procedures of oil & gas field working system.

This teach me about safety needs & importants.

By following a system properly regularly and completely we dont get any chance for confusion,tension. This the important thing which I learned from this Job.
Pros
Free food & Accomodation
Cons
Rotational Job: 56 days ON duty, 28days OFF duty
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High standard for Safety
Automation Specialist (Current Employee) –  OMAugust 5, 2016
Rotation work 28/28 according Oil & Gas company standard. Good team work in Automation departement. Working time from 6 am to 6 pm. Company provided all support regarding work such as Flight ticket, Taxi, PPE, Hotel, Meal, Car, petrol.

The hardest part of job is Rewiring and Reprogramming PLC for Reverse Osmosis Plant in 22 days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Internship (Former Employee) –  OmanJuly 22, 2016
Working throughout the summer as an intern gave me an opportunity to understand the essence of the workplace in a business environment.

I have learned how to deal with issues that were difficult to tackle with, who to seek help from as well the department were helpful from the manager to my co-workers. If I was lost, confused or unaware of something there was help provided.

Sometimes, I found difficulty in collecting data which gave me a hard time but it slowly eased out.

I enjoyed our lunches, it is where everyone let down their serious faces and just talked about anything as well I got given tips on how to improve my work.
Pros
Friendly environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful work location 1
Maintenance/Supervisor for 07 yrs (Former Employee) –  Oman MukhatznaJuly 5, 2016
I got an experience with multi culture atmosphere which was an excellent management leadership with very interesting working felicities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviorment
Senior Instrument Technician (Former Employee) –  omanMay 13, 2016
i have good support from my co workers . and we do work together for any critical works of course its nice to work again there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company to work for
IT Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Muscat, MANovember 8, 2015
fast pace learning environment, lots of politics but overall excellent company to work for and each employee has full support from everyone to do well
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with Occidental
It was good challenge to enhance Heavy Oil Production from 10,000 BOPD to 150,000 BOPD in 6 Years time frame. First time steam is injected to produce crude Oil in Middle East
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Laboratory Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mukhaizna , OmanDecember 1, 2013
Every day new challenges produced water management, huge field with various properties
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 23Report

See more Occidental Petroleum reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Occidental Petroleum. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 338 reviews
5163
488
350
214
123

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Occidental Petroleum Reviews by Location