National Oilwell Varco Employee Reviews

Showing all 2,718 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Production Lead (Current Employee) –  Nisku, ABAugust 18, 2019
At NOV the main focus is safety first then quality of workmanship. The Management team is great and they always have an open door policy which make the employees feel they are getting heard. The safety culture is awesome and they are always encouraging employees to bring up safety concerns and how to improve them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welding and fabrication all around job
Welder/Fabricator foreman (Current Employee) –  DubaiAugust 17, 2019
A sign.the field for welding and repair.and modification job.fabrication.painting mechanical structural.job gouging.cutting grinding.cleaning all aruond.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hires a lot of inexperienced account personally.
AR Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 16, 2019
Good place to start a career but not to stay, NOV does recruit College graduates regardless if they have experience in Oil or Gas, Pays more for a degree but I would expect the company to do so,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress to keep the job always lay off
Assembler tests technician (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAAugust 16, 2019
No one help everyone fight for keep the job almost all personal don’t have study and certification and are team leaders also no education
Something happen to you accident they cover if you have accident they take you in the office and try to fix they problem with out consultation to the doctor it’s a disaster happen to me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
Contract - Sales Tax Accountant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 14, 2019
I'm a contractor and I have enjoyed my stay at the company. I can't really speak about the benefits but management in the area I worked was very helpful and treated you with respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hopes and dreams
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXAugust 14, 2019
Poor management. They will come up to you talking big saying were gonna work 18hrs a day for the next few weeks, get ready to camp out at work. We work one day late, 10-11hrs tops from normal 8hrs and then back to 8hrs rest of the week. They have no employee appreciation. They dont care about their employees at all. I worked for 18months due to it being less then a few miles from my house
Pros
Uniforms, 5 min from home
Cons
Weak pay, no raises only every 10 yrs, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people but management lacking.
Principal Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXAugust 14, 2019
There was both good and bad... Typical of almost any company.
The biggest concerns were management taking for impossible things...36 hour workdays because that's what engineers do.
Also, there is rampant age discrimination for those over 50 who are not directors or above. Pretty uncomfortable if one is knocking on the 50 door.
Pros
Benefits were fairly priced. Colleagues were great to work with.
Cons
Literally impossible goals, 160 percent revenue increase per year for my group, We achieved only 35 percent increase
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement based on connections
Shared Services Order Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 13, 2019
Lots of family connections. Wrong people in positions due to their connections and not experience. No standardization of procedures. HR info spreads quickly.
Pros
Benefits, work life balance
Cons
Nepotism high, promotion lacking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Director (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 13, 2019
I enjoy the day in and day out with my team and peers. Developed a strong working relationship and network. Working in Oil & Gas can be stressful due to continuous changing market outlook.
Pros
Work/Life Balance
Cons
Oil & Gas Industry Roller Coaster
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet
HSE Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 12, 2019
Good learning environment, with a lot of moving parts. Never a dull moment. It is a very diverse environment only second to my experience in the military.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buena infraestructura de trabajo
Analista (Former Employee) –  San Isidro, LimaAugust 12, 2019
Urgencias diarias, cambio de giros en los servicios.
Ambiente para almorzar
Pros
Dejan trabajar
Cons
No aceptan sugerencias
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa com excelente estrutura, grande incentivo em treinamentos, salario e bebeficios bastante atrativos
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Macaé, RJAugust 12, 2019
Empresa com excelente estrutura, grande incentivo em treinamentos, salario e bebeficios bastante atrativos
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is slow
Facility Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Orange, CAAugust 12, 2019
The company is not selling much product so they haven't been getting very many people buying their parts and machines so work is slow you might have layouts again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Pipe straightener operator (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABAugust 11, 2019
Good company to work for, steady work all year round. Also great training facility with good people. I've learned to keep on top of every task and to be safe.
Pros
good hours
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth working here with degree
Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXAugust 11, 2019
Most positions have very little space for growth unless you have a four year degree. Some certifications will help with advancement. You will need to be patient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Hydro Tester (Former Employee) –  McAlester, OKAugust 10, 2019
Did not want to leave,Company layoff only reason for leaving.Enjoyed the work environment and co-workers.Management and Hr are great and will miss my employment there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits!
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX 77042August 9, 2019
Not a place to work if you think outside of the Aggie box/culture.
The co. reorganizes every five minutes making work life stressful, unfriendly, and unpredictable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging with rewarding
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 9, 2019
I enjoyed the challenges and was always complemented on my outstanding work. Supervisors were very supportive. I felt like I was part of a team working to accomplish specific goals.
Pros
Clean and comforable environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extemely busy or slow
Welding Inspector (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 9, 2019
Decent pay, excellent benefits. work schedule subject to change at any given time, sometimes with little or no notice. Some departments work better with employees than others.
Pros
Lots of leftover food on night shift from day shift lunch meetings
Cons
Only a couple days off a month. work most holidays when busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Admin (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 7, 2019
Management and local HR are horrible and extremely discriminatory. This part of my career was theabsolute worst. The only good from this was I was able to pay bills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Oilwell Varco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,718 reviews
5931
4958
3588
2140
1101

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture