FieldCore Employee Reviews

Showing all 43 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sadly can’t give zero stars for management
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, GlasgowApril 26, 2019
Company is just ridiculous. Army of managers who do nothing apart from sit on calls and ignore those they feel are below them.

HR Management in the UK are a joke.

Stay away unless you want no thanks for a job where you get nothing in return. Sad company thanks to GE.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Management, culture, attitude, people don’t even come in for their work and no one cares
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive workplace that demands your abilities
Wind Turbine Commissioner (Current Employee) –  IowaApril 23, 2019
Working with FieldCore is really what you make of it. My job involves me constantly traveling and planning off the edge of my seat. If you can't handle it, then you may not enjoy it. The pay is decent, and the healthcare is really great. If you don't mind the travel (and the heights), I would recommend this company.
Pros
Decent pay, all equipment is issued
Cons
constant travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a good career if
Commissioning Wind Technician (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 10, 2019
company as a whole is a good company. There is a sever lack of communication through management. The travel benefits are good, wages are decent when they work you. The workplace can be negative depending on the crew you are working with. Getting started on a project is very difficult and they lay you off quite a bit. There is no guarantee of work which makes it hard to plan financially.
The hardest part of the job is the physicality of the job. You must be able to climb multiple times a day. The most enjoyable part of this job is the traveling and meeting new people.
Pros
Fun to travel to new places and good wages
Cons
there is a lack of communication and no guarantee of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FieldCore
Mechanical Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 26, 2019
When taking on a job like this one must understand what the job is all about. As a field service technician, you are on the road 100% of the time. So work life/balance is virtually none existent. Occasionally you get put on nice projects where you can have a little bit of a normal life and routine. I've learned that this type of work situation does not work for most people. Relationships with loved ones tends to suffer unless they understand the life of your job/career.

As far as managers apply, we have some good ones and some bad ones. My region has had good managers overall as they are skilled in the field and have worked in the field. They understand how the life is. Some other regions have managers who need to be improved on.

Workplace culture is good in my opinion. Finally we've gotten to a point where we get uniforms on a regular basis once a year. Once you start to work with the same people and same locations, work life balance becomes a bit easier as things are more familiar and common.

The hardest part of the job is dealing with things outside of the job while working. You will learn to put someone in charge at your house to take care of your house while your gone, or handle all that weight when you return for a day or two of home life. Occasionally you will have a few weeks to maybe a month at home where you start to realize your running out of savings and wonder where the industry is going. Then it's back to work for a few weeks at a time back to back.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the traveling. If you like to experience some traveling
  more... and going interesting places, this is a great job/career. Some locations aren't really a vacation location however if you learn to look for interesting things, you will enjoy the traveling much better. We are able to obtain the travel perks like the airline miles, the rental car points, the hotel points, and so fourth. The best part of traveling and collecting perks is that when you decide to take a vacation, you basically travel for free.

I felt the benefits package was good.

Overall I feel the company is a good company to work for if you know what your getting involved in from the start. Plenty of work to be done if you want to work a lot. Plenty to learn about the industry and what the work includes.
  less
Pros
Benefits, travel perks, travel, what you can learn
Cons
work/life balance, pay scales
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For most of my time it was pleasant
Sr. Network and Security Engineer (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 18, 2019
For the first several years, we had a great team and culture. After new senior leadership came in, the entire culture changed. It became less balanced and unhealthy.
Pros
Able to work remotely
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel and hours are crazy
STEAM TURBINE FIELD ENGINEER LEVEL 1 (Former Employee) –  United StatesMarch 14, 2019
This company has a lot of issues with work-life balance. You travel for 9-10 months out of the year, and you work for 60-90 hours per week, "hopefully" 90 hours. It can be very rough on family life to be gone 75-84% of the year.
Pros
Per Diem, Bonus Pay, Self-Paced Training and Advancement
Cons
Extensive Travel, Long Hours, Rough Coworkers, Skeptical Safety Attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Leadership & Toxic Culture
NA (Former Employee) –  NAFebruary 26, 2019
No career advancement opportunities unless you know someone regardless of experience or education. A lot of employees were laid off after the merger of Granite & GE power services.
Pros
Work Flexibility
Cons
Poor Management, lack of recognition for the business support areas, compensations are not equally or fairly distributed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best if you don't have a family
Steam Mechanical/Gas Controls MKVIe Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 15, 2019
I worked on installs as a Field Engineer
A typical day at work:
leave the hotel early in the morning to attend a 630am meeting with customer
then attend another meeting at 7 with office (internal)
then attend another meeting at 8 with craft supervisors
The rest of the day is working with internal and external support to fulfill duties as a field engineer (loosely defined, just build the turbine).
Management changes with every site/job you go to.
Workplace culture depends on the job you have for that site. Mostly you are left to your own devices and self driving attitude is a must.
the hardest part of the job is not being home 11 months out of the year.
the most enjoyable part of the job is being given impossible feats and turning them into a workable solution.
Pros
money
Cons
travel (live in TX - every job i was assigned to was in PA or FL) no work/life balance at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i did everyday of work
RECEIVING TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IAJanuary 22, 2019
I learned to inspect major components as they brought them in on the semi we got in them and searched for anything that might be broken or cracked that way they can fix it before it goes in the air
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay. On the road a lot. Overall great job.
CRD Tech Level 1 (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, NCDecember 21, 2018
If you are mechanically inclined and don't mind being on the road a lot, this is a great job for you. There is a lot of problem solving and you must be able to take direction and retain information given to you.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Away from home months at the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid travel and per diem when on business. Most work is out of state
Under Vessel Technician (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, NCDecember 7, 2018
Great work environment and even better people to work with. Paid training in the off season. If applying you must be able to read and follow extensive procedures as well as be mechanically and technically inclined
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Resource Manager (Current Employee) –  remoteDecember 7, 2018
The long hours and changing goals make life work balance difficult to maintain. As a field technician it is 100% travel, which i enjoyed.

I enjoyed working with the field teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work
Billing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 20, 2018
Fieldcore its a very competitve place to work, great people and great management. I have really enjoy the years I have worked for this company but unfortunately my department is being moved to another country.
Pros
Benefits, lunch room
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job working with great people.
Safety Representative (Current Employee) –  Hinton, OKNovember 6, 2018
The job is not boring and I enjoy working with people from all parts of the globe functioning as one team. The most challenging aspect of the job is the amount of paperwork that is required to be accomplished.
Pros
Good management
Cons
To much paperwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Wind Technician (Former Employee) –  UsaOctober 30, 2018
Great company that provides you with a platform to grow your career. Gave great opportunities in career advancement and learning of different positions in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Atmosphere with Activities
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Jebel Ali FreezoneOctober 18, 2018
A great place to learn new things everyday and working with some of the best minds . Every day is an opportunity to encounter new challenges and finding their solution. Also has several facilities for employees to relax during their free time , such as Table tennis and Foosball Tables
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance of Turbines with a good team
Materials / Tooling Specialist (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  TchadOctober 15, 2018
What we do is basically is the maintenance of rotating and reciprocating equipment. And we also dwell on taking Safety and Quality serious, What I really enjoy in working there is the team spirit, learning from one another. The hardest part is during the rush hour when you need to attend to so many people trying to collect materials and tools for the job. The most enjoyable part is when the job is almost completed and the customer is satisfied with the extent of the job.
Pros
Free breakfast, lunch and dinner
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty to learn
Field Representative (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAOctober 3, 2018
FieldCore is a great place to work if you're happy being out of town more than at home. During most of the year, you can be gone months at a time. You get the opportunity to travel nationwide and, on occasion, out of the country.

It's not a perfect company but the over time pay is very compelling. Benefits are actually very good, as well.
Pros
Per diem, benefits, lots of traveling
Cons
starting wage not great, slow seasons leaves you on the bench a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Assist processing (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLOctober 1, 2018
Good salary, a lot of travel. The benefits are very good. Constant travel throughout the United States.
Rumors are that the company is about to be sold .
Pros
Benefits
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too demanding
Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 19, 2018
Great training. Poor management follow-up. Poor compensations and benefits policy that doesn't promote self-motivation. Managers less helpful. Too demanding and heavy load on employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FieldCore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 43 reviews
510
420
38
21
14

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture