Interserve Employee Reviews

Showing all 352 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse campany i ever work for
window cleaner supervisor (Former Employee) –  LondonMay 26, 2017
worse campany i ever work for, bad organising really bad at not paying you for your over time as well. concent complaints from employees just round bad company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cleaner edinburgh waverley station (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Waverley Station, City of EdinburghMay 24, 2017
Loved working for interserve great company management are good they make sure you have full training and deal with any queries you have good rate of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a stepping stone
Store Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Leicester, LeicestershireMay 22, 2017
Over look their employees when it comes to promotions. Ask you to sign in and out by telephone but sack people when they don't change hours on a bit of paper, even when you are told if you don't sign in by telephone then you will not be paid! Your area manager should hold a copy of your contract but she you have been with them for years and ask for a copy you are told to ask previous employer. When you ask the previous employer they tell you "All contracts was pass on to new employer via area manager". When you ask Interserve about this they say they do not have to keep a copy of your contract. Quite the poor company
Pros
early shifts
Cons
lose contracts and con you on how to sign in
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of work
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South YorkshireMay 15, 2017
Introduction was good,however work offers have been last minute & not regular. Shifts cancelled. Lack of training on specific jobs.
Head office is a joke.....even had to chase references myself.
Training is not paid & expected to do long shadow shifts for free.
It has cost me money to train + fuel.
Office staff are rude & make u feel belittled. No support.
Pros
None
Cons
Expect 100 % from u with not a 10% effort from them.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in part of a good team.
Thermal Insulation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saltend,HullMay 12, 2017
I had an apprenticeship in thermal insulation engineering and am now out my time I have gained vast experience and look to further that in the future.
Pros
Great workmates, good hours, good pay
Cons
long hours on shutdowns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
muy bien
Limpiadora (Former Employee) –  aeropuerto tenerife sur reina sofiaMay 9, 2017
aparte de trabajar conocias gente y era muy bien..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School cleaner
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  TruroMay 3, 2017
This is worst company to work for. I worked them for 4 months and even did some overtime. The person in charge made you feel wasn't good at your job. Another thing is they mess up your pay or don't pay you on time. They force you out your job and replace you with other people. Luckily I found another job with better hours.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes20No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My working day
Commercial and finance team leader (Current Employee) –  West Bromwich, West MidlandsApril 27, 2017
managing the billing and receipting, ensuring our client has been billed correctly and our subcontractors and suppliers are paid within the 30 days payment terms. I manage a team of 6 with different cultures,

Interserve is a wide culture workplace, I have learnt a lot of the 8 years of working with the company, please refer back to my CV.

The hardest part of the job but the most enjoyable part is ensuring we bring in the money.
Pros
progression
Cons
no bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfriendly and hard
Apprentice Chef (Former Employee) –  Oldbury-on-Severn, GloucestershireApril 27, 2017
a typical day at work was i would go in and i would have to wait for someone to collect me to go into the kitchen, i would then have to go and get changed into my chef whites, the only thing i learnt there was how to put cheese and bacon on bread. the management wasnt that good, if you had a problem they wouldnt help you with them. the hardest part of the job was working in the wash room because of all of the heavy pots, the most enjoyable part of the job was working with lovely people.
Pros
free lunch and breakfast
Cons
early starts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware the move!
Facilities management coordinator (Former Employee) –  RedditchApril 26, 2017
The NSC in Redditch is moving!
They may not tell you this in the interviews but in 2018 it's being relocated to the far side of Birmingham airport.
Salary is average, morale poor.
There are some good staff and managers are generally supportive but company culture not ideal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor and stonemason
Operator (Current Employee) –  London Hill collegeApril 25, 2017
I've a lot experience I have a good reference from my last jobs
I want help and Give the best of me
I like the punctuality and leave the works in the best possible way giving a good image to the company of the work we give
Pros
Supervisor, operative manager in Spanish
Cons
Full time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Cleaner (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Derby, DerbyshireApril 21, 2017
They have siutable hours whatever is needed evening or morning hours. I never had problems with getting my salary on time or getting it in right amout.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  SouthamptonApril 20, 2017
Plenty of perks with working for Interserve.
Commercially there is a lot of pressure to make money which can lead to a disconnect between upper management and the site team.

Difficult to find time outside of work as you can easily be sent well over an hour and a half commute
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place I have worked and poor management
Cleaning (Former Employee) –  EssexApril 20, 2017
Worse company I have worked for and poor management , if you work there you will get spoken down to and treated unfairly and they will not want to listen to you
The company seem make up there own rules to suit them !
The pay is good but they never pay you correct always getting under paid
I wouldn't recommend working for this company I'm glad I've left
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy but enjoyable.
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Telford and Wrekin, ShropshireApril 14, 2017
this was a busy job and lots to do , but the hard work paid off with the extra bonus's and perks we got from the job.

the job itself was hard and you needed to put in some hard graft to excel.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management useless
Back of House (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West YorkshireApril 14, 2017
Management useless no support when u get abused by customers they bend over backwards for customers even though we get sworn at and threatened use less no support no real enjoyment
Pros
Wage
Cons
Hrs management useless
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Graft
Hospital Porter (Former Employee) –  LeicesterApril 13, 2017
Long hours ad very physically and mentally tasking job role!

The management at the time was an absolute shambles. All contracts were zero hours and overtime was usually required at a flat rate pay.
Pros
Help people in need
Cons
Long hours. Poor pay. No organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience but I wouldnt return
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater LondonApril 12, 2017
Although the work experience at Interserve was useful to gain insight into the area, I find that they were very unorganised as we were told that there were a range of tasks that would be arranged for us over the experience period. However those involved with creating these plans failed and it was left to working members of staff to give us experience in talking to customers and typing reports because they felt pity for us.

In the end we gained valuable experience but I doubt any of us will be returning again for Work experience at Interserve.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Cleaning Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Paddington StationApril 10, 2017
I remembered there was an oil paint spillage in the work area(main concourse)and I as a supervisor noticed it ,and it was the rush hour time ,I arranged my staffs to get the barriers ,close the area ,get it cleaned without disturbing the customers keeping in mind the health and safety my staff and that too of the customers .
I did not realised it that I was been noticed by a NWR Station shift manager ,he praised me for the hard work which we did ,he commented on my good work and I was shocked to receive the certificate award from Interserve for my good work.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management and hr are only in it for interserve not staff
Manager (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West YorkshireApril 10, 2017
Started fine turned into living nightmare
Management and hr two faced
No training just get on with it
I have never met so many members of so called management who will pass the blame and stands you in the back at any opportunity
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Interserve. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 352 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1

CEO Approval

59%
122 ratings
Add your rating